LEAD BY EXAMPLE

Leadership creates leadersThe world today is inundated with problems. The media covers them on a daily basis. As much as these issues frustrate us, we contribute to their ongoing agenda. We have a tendency to point fingers at others and identify “them” to blame for these dilemmas. Without realizing it, this blame game weakens our individual spirits because it reinforces the influences they have over our lives. How can we turn the tides and address the many untreated wounds so many souls bare?
EACH OF US can assume the responsibility to become leaders in our own right. We can offer assistance to those in need of our individual talents and accomplishments. We can stop focusing on the evil in this world and begin the healing by using tools of encouragement, offering ideas and game plans to achieving new growth and proving to ourselves and our neighbors that we are capable of creating a better world to live in.
This means standing up and being heard. This is likely to fall outside the comfort zone for many of us, but isn’t the alternative of a morally and ethically corrupt world a more fearful place to live? Our children need guidance and support and direction. We focus so much on our own lives, they are forced in many cases to teach themselves how to grow up and survive rather than thrive.
We complain about the cost of healthcare. We complain about a shrinking middle class. We complain about a changing world economy and the influences it has on our own country. We rely on politicians and government to “fix” these problems which they have been unable to do for countless decades. We complain about our school systems. We complain about job opportunities. We complain, we complain, we complain……..
We use the word LEADERSHIP, but how many of us step forward to volunteer for the job. Are we more powerful and successful when one person attempts to lead and direct a society, or are we more powerful and successful when large numbers of us contribute to the process?

BUT HOW DO WE START THE PROCESS?

 It starts with each of us. It starts with the personal changes we know we need to make in our lives and start making them. Knowing that change is needed is not enough. Action produces change and leadership requires action. Each parent must step forward to participate. You enjoyed the pleasure associated with creating a child; now I ask you to accept the responsibility in giving this child the opportunity to grow up and thrive in our changing and challenging world. I have heard plenty of excuses when I’ve asked for your help, but today I ask you to place these excuses on the side. Excuses can not help motivate positive attitudes. They can not create constructive ideas to open the doors exposing new opportunity. They simply promulgate a vicious cycle of failure leading to a tomorrow that looks the same or worse than today.
Parents, I implore you to stop making excuses. If you don’t know right from wrong, find someone who does and LEARN. If you already know the differences, start living a life your child can model themselves after. Become true LEADERS for your children and let your example be more than just an aspiration to pursue; let it become a reality. We live in a country where 75% of its population is overweight and a growing part of this population is obese. How can we expect our children to grow up healthy? Just because we live in a country that claims to pride itself on the rights of individual freedom doesn’t mean we should take that liberty and abuse it. It certainly should not be used to destroy the quality of our children’s lives. Parents, I ask you, where is the LEADERSHIP?
It is time to stand up in our homes, to stand up in our schools and to unite and LEAD the process of change. Our food choices will be dictated by US, not the food industry, not the dietitian associations, NOT OUR CHILDREN! They are not leaders, yet… It is our job to teach, to create foundations upon which they can grow and develop so that one day, they will be prepared to join our society and make it a healthier and more responsible place to live. Their efforts will improve that which we’ve created rather than becoming the next generation to promote new excuses and new reasons for continued failure.
I offer you these options after reading this article:
  1. Feel anger and resentment toward me and my ideas; do nothing and continue to live your current lifestyle.
  2. Question your current life, but refuse to change believing you are only one person unable to make a difference.
  3. Decide for yourself that your family is worth more effort than has been offered and begin a dialogue with them creating short term goals for improvement.
  4. Decide that your ability to LEAD needs to be taken seriously and begin organizing the neighborhood to participate in a plan of action for community growth and prosperity.
  5. Decide that your LEADERSHIP would best be served in a changing political structure to offer the communities and counties better options to support the growth of healthier and more successful generations of children.
The most dangerous person we confront is the person who chooses to do nothing. This is the person that typically complains the most, offers the most excuses and impedes the process of change. I ask you to ask yourself, “Are you this person?” If the answer is yes, I implore you to become part of the solution. As of 2014, The United States population was 318.9 million people. If everyone took $1 and placed it in a pot, we would raise 318.9 million dollars. If instead we provided a $1 effort to create positive change for our children and the world we all live in, can you imagine how much “richer” and better off our lives would be.

ARE YOU READY TO STAND UP AND LEAD BY EXAMPLE?

leadership5

21 comments

  1. Its not all about the money, it’s about the effort of people and their responsibility toward their fellow man.
    I agree with your thoughts most wholeheartedly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cameron for your compassion and understanding in this matter. Change is inevitable; I’m hoping I can simply stimulate the process to help it occur a little more quickly. I truly believe if people look at themselves after they read this article, they may stand up and become part of the solution.
      Stay healthy and happy.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. If our actions create a legacy that inspires others to dream more, learn more and be more, then we have done our part as parents and leaders. Passionate post.

    Like

    1. Well said. I hope more people take this article to heart and recognize the important responsibilities we share to making this world a better place to live in. Thank you for being a part of the solution.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Another good post….and change is going to happen whether your on board or not so why not help the change happen in positive ways….thanks….kat

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you Kat. I guess the question to the general audience becomes, “do you want to be part of the solution, or remain part of the problem?” Energy, persistence, the ability to convince others and the belief that this solution is critical for our future are the qualities needed to achieve the goals. It certainly isn’t easy, but it is definitely worthwhile.

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on and commented:
    A good blog on leadership. We should all take this to heart even me who complains a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for passing the message on, Tessa!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Great article and I know I am part of the problem, but I can reblog your article. I will do what I can to help the situation.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I agree with much of what you say although put less emphasis on obesity and more on other areas. Weight management is far from a even playing field. I have two skinny kids and my daughter is underweight for medical reasons and is on an appetite stimulant. I am on prednisone, which is notorious for putting on weight.
    But your heart is another story.
    I wrote about a terrible murder case in Australia over the weekend because I think we need to speak out against evil and felt it was also important to show how the community has pulled together for good in the aftermath. https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/11/01/when-horror-is-real/
    Take care & best wishes,
    Rowena

    Like

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read my article and commenting. There will always be exceptions to health conditions that are outside the scope of behavioral changes, but in most cases today, weight control is based on behavior and poor choices rather than medical underlying conditions. It is these cases that I express concern and request active participation in a healthier new direction.

      I read your post about the murders in Australia. These types of murders (unfortunately) are witnessed all over the world. Why must we wait for tragedy before we decide to unite around a cause. Why can’t joy and positive change offer enough motivation to unite our worlds. I ask that people think about this concept, because I believe many will agree it makes sense. I also believe this new paradigm is likely to result in fewer tragedies as well.
      You are obviously a good caring person that “feels” the pain of others. I hope my writing and philosophy offers hope and new opportunities that impact your life in a positive manner. I listen to my readers because I truly learn as much from them as I believe I teach them. I welcome your thoughts any time you feel so inclined.
      Stay healthy and happy and extend a friendly hello from half way around the world to your children for me.

      Like

  8. If there was a way in which we can help people truly believe that their voices do matter; no matter what their background, financial status, race, etc may be. I believe those who make excuses for not following through may not have acquired the tools to step up and become leaders in their own right.

    Powerful messages here, and I would love to see people implement them. If we each encouraged and helped even one person find his/her voice, then perhaps that torch would continuously be passed on to another. It’s worth a try!

    Thank you for your passion and encouragement. Your words have been a source of sustenance for me and I’m sure, many others, as well. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Rose for your insightful response. As you suggested, we are not all leaders, but this doesn’t mean we can’t help people find their strengths so that they may teach others.

      A piece of dirt breaking free from a rock doesn’t create much of an impact. Isn’t a mud slide simply countless pieces of dirt working together causing the potential for enormous change? This is my view of the world and my belief that our combined efforts can create enormous positive changes. We need to find a common reason that motivates people to work together in order to achieve this better world.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I love this post!!!

    I think people forget that we are all influencing others every day, in a million ways. I once heard that we all have at least five secret admirers in life at any given time. I believe we have many more than that most days. What this means to me is that we are all being observed; and others are taking notes. If this is true, the question then becomes: When they are watching, what are these others learning about us and our approach to the world around us? As a parent, the answer to that question is of ultimate importance to me!

    We don’t have to lead in big and grand ways, but we need to accept that we are influencing others every day, either for good or bad. This truth is something important to ponder, and what was brought to mind as I was reading your post today. Thanks, Jonathan!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I enjoyed your comment very much. You came at this article from a very interesting angle and I enjoyed your perspective. Thank you for sharing these ideas.

    Like

  11. My focus has always been to change my little corner of the world. Maybe I’m approaching it wrong, but I’ve never tried to make an actual systemic change; rather I’ve tried to make tangible differences in my own small ways that make a difference to people.

    Example: it was brought to my attention that an elderly woman in my community is both sick and lonely with kids who aren’t very interested in her (except for money). I’ve started visiting her weekly and I have even brought my husband along. What we are doing won’t change the world, but it can change her world. We brought her cupcakes and soup over the weekend, and my husband moved some furniture for her and set all her clocks back. She was SO happy.

    Small kindness can make a huge difference because they are a lot more rare than they should be. We get caught up in our own lives and how busy we are and forget that we need to be good human beings too. I think you can always make time for what’s important to you (and a lot of people seem to find Facebook and TV very important..).

    I do believe that many things in the world need to be changed, but I guess my approach has always been to “take care of my own backyard” first. There are a lot of meaningful differences that we can make without even trying too hard. Imagine if we did try!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Personally I believe any change (small or large, systemic or focal) that improves upon a current situation is a change worth making. I think the example you shared is the type of change more people can make if they simply think about it. The world we live in is round; today we offer to help others, tomorrow younger generations offer to help us. Isn’t this the type of giving we all could benefit from? Like you said, “There are a lot of meaningful differences that we can make without even trying too hard.” I imagine this on a regular basis! Thank you for a wonderful comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Howto$tuffYourPig · · Reply

    Great post! I agree that change starts from within and everything begins with one person and one idea, then others follow.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. It is wonderful to see you back regularly again. You were missed! Hopefully this post helps ignite some positive action steps to create inner change for those looking and wanting a better tomorrow.

    Like

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

