WHAT MAKES EXERCISE SO DIFFICULT?

For most of us, the word EXERCISE usually creates a strong EMOTIONAL response that looks something like one of these pictures:

Why does exercise create such “traumatic” reactions and expressions? Is it because:

  1. We don’t like being told what to do?

  2. We don’t like doing things that aren’t FUN?

  3. We don’t like spending money on our health?

  4. We don’t like the idea of being responsible for our own health?

I’m sure the list is more extensive, but the reality is:

WE DON’T WANT TO DO IT!!

We know we should. We know it’s important. We make resolutions ANNUALLY to commit ourselves to incorporating this NECESSARY activity into our lives. ….and then….

WE RENEGE ON OUR COMMITMENT.

We create fictitious reasons. We create excuses. We convince ourselves there just isn’t enough time to exercise and perform all other activities of daily living.

Let’s face it, if we don’t exercise, it doesn’t affect our ability (on a daily basis) to live our typical lifestyles? We may have less energy, less clarity and less emotional and physical fortitude, but we can get through the day without tangible evidence of self harm. Knowing this, we convince ourselves that exercise is more a recreational activity than an activity required to live a healthy life. This belief is reinforced when we hear stories of young people that have died of cancer or heart attacks in spite of living a healthy lifestyle. We justify our actions (or lack of actions) by using these ISOLATED examples to represent a false belief that exercise is not essential for quality health. This narrative fits our lifestyles and makes us feel more comfortable with our lack of self discipline.

.

MY QUESTION IS THIS:

WHAT PERCENTAGE OF THE POPULATION THAT FOLLOWS AN UNHEALTHY LIFESTYLE WITHOUT EXERCISE TRULY ENJOYS A LIFE OF QUALITY?

.

HAVE YOU EVER WONDERED?

  1. Why were we given the opportunity of life?

  2. What have we done with this opportunity?

  3. If we could start all over, would we follow the same path we’ve chosen or accepted?

  4. Why do we accept LESS than we deserve?

Is it worth continuing down a road of self destruction knowing better opportunities exist?  Are you willing to recognize SELF IMPORTANCE and improve SELF VALUE by “raising the bar” to a level exceeding the MINIMAL threshold necessary to achieving greater clarity, meaning and purpose in life? Would you like to be part of the SOLUTION to help yourself, your family and your friends achieve these same benefits?

It doesn’t happen overnight. It starts with an HONEST COMMITMENT in a REALISTIC MANNER. The reason most people have difficulty in the LONG TERM is because they “over promise” and “under deliver.” They begin an UNSUSTAINABLE PROCESS that terminates in failure. If lessons were learned to improve future outcomes, the “failure” could be viewed in a positive manner. Instead, we have a tendency to repeat the same kinds of mistakes foolishly expecting better end results.

Whether it’s diet, exercise, meditation, etc…, it must be gradual and require a reasonable time frame. Exercising 6-7 days a week for an hour each day is NOT REALISTIC. Exercising 2-4 days/week for 15-30 minutes each time IS REALISTIC.

DON’T BEGIN A NUTRITION PLAN, EXERCISE PLAN, ETC… AT A PACE YOU CAN’T MAINTAIN FOR:

THE REST OF YOUR LIFE!

.

As long as your doctor hasn’t told you to avoid exercise, begin your plan TODAY. Decide for yourself what type of exercise YOU CHOOSE to begin as well as how much time you are COMFORTABLE at committing. This is EXACTLY where EVERY PERSON living a healthy lifestyle begins!

This time, don’t make it a resolution; make it a LIFESTYLE and LIFETIME DECISION. It doesn’t matter what you do, just as long as you do it!

IT WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE FOREVER!

21 comments

  1. Reblogged this on disue.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for this wonderful post. I can actually relate with it because even I myself had been facing difficulties committing to exercising regularly but now I am trying again and its been great so far. Reading this post just even inspired me some more to be better and more persistent. Thank you

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I am so glad this post made a positive impact on you. I have exercised regularly for many years, but that certainly doesn’t mean I have looked forward to each session. I even wrote an article about this called, EXERCISE CONFESSIONS. If you are interested, I have included the link for you: https://allabouthealthychoices.wordpress.com/2016/01/11/exercise-confessions/

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Oh great I will check it out, just started off my blog also… It’s going to health related too. https://justaconcernedearthling.wordpress.com/2016/09/14/hello-world/?preview=true..Dats just an intro

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Just finished checking your site. a year and 5 months ago I sat in your shoes. Be creative, be meaningful and LOVE what you DO. People are intuitive and will respond well to honesty and sincerity as you provide health education to them

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thank you very much for the advice, will do that

            Liked by 2 people

  3. Great post. It is the biting off more than you can chew mentality and the need for rapid results that dooms so many. You advised me to start off with small increments of exercise and little by little I built it up to the point, where I feel guilty when I skip my routine.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You followed the path most people achieve the best success with. The key is repetition making it a “way of life,” rather than a recreational activity when time becomes available.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Unfortunately, most of us aren’t in the habit of taking the proactive stance. It’s easy to put the truly important things off. I generally recommend people target a total time spent in training each week. For example, you could divide three hours into six 30 minute sessions or four sessions lasting 45 minutes. That way, if you “miss” a day you can do it later or extend the time spent working out to compensate for it and still meet your total time commitment for the week!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That certainly makes sense. For those first starting out, I like to increase the flexibility by letting them establish their own boundaries. Often this helps to reduce fear while giving CONTROL to the individual.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I count my blessings every single day that one of my doctors sent me to aqua therapy. To a rehab center that has a full gym included in the building aside of the therapy building. For ten months I have kept true to myself and continued the therapy down to once a week now and also I have joined the gym to use the pool as much as I want to. One hour in the water each day is like playtime and as of today it has taken me these last 5 months but I have lost 27lbs! Changes each day to my diet, of course, was the key and have now added a half mile walk before the pool almost each day…the trick is to make it a habit..so instead of pulling through a dunk drive up I pull into the pool. The more you do it the more you will want to. my gym membership for being in therapy at the time i joined I got a small discount but I pay a mere $39. a month for use of the whole place aqua exercise classes included. How can you not want to spend money on trying to achieve your healthiest self? I was spending well over that amount on take out each month..i think it really comes down to what you want to afford more than what you are able in some cases. thank you once again Doctor Jonathan! your posts always get me thinking what more can I do for myself! and I love that!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. All your hard work has improved you self image and self value. This is why you are willing to pay for a monthly health club membership willingly! You want better for yourself and you’re achieving it. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes! you are right! thank you for your encouragement these last few months I really appreciate it! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  6. As always I am sure your wrote this post just for me…LOL my big question is why is it so easy to gain and not loose, be bad and not good, your know the ole ying & yang effect of life…kat

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s actually easier to maintain good health than combat recurring disease. Just because something is easier doesn’t mean its enjoyable and fun. Sometimes we simply have to do “things” for the LONG TERM benefits.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. isn’t that true….

        Liked by 2 people

  7. Another great post! It can be so daunting to try and take on wholesale lifestyle changes overnight, especially with exercise. When you realize that small but meaningful changes can make a difference it becomes much easier to maintain and build on those changes over time. I know this was certainly true for me. I used to try and kick off my year by changing everything radically changing my diet and working out intensely 5 days week. If I was lucky, I could carry that into February before I was discouraged, injured and binge eating. I have found the only way to succeed long term has been by continually making incremental positive changes to my lifestyle.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Todd, your comment is SO IMPORTANT. As a physician, people often read my words as a clinical expression of “what ought to be.” Your comment demonstrates the REALITY and SUCCESS of my words “in action!” Your words will help inspire other readers to pursue a new course that MANY will benefit from. Thank you so much for sharing your story and helping me teach people that better health and quality living is really possible.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. During my days before my spine decided to misbehave, I used to enjoy my brisk walks daily. I got an endorphin high from exercise naturally and felt happier. After 3km, I swam 2km. These days I am lucky if I do 2,500 steps daily and 6,600 steps twice weekly. 😦

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I don’t know the details of your spinal situation, but would non impact, non weight bearing exercise like spinning or stationary/recumbent bicycling be an option? Possibly water (pool) resistive exercises? We have to find a method to get a pretty smile back on that face of yours! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. 😊🤗

        Liked by 2 people

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

