DOCTOR, HEAL THYSELF

obesity-smaller

I recently wrote an article entitled, MY MENTOR: JACK LaLANNE. The purpose was to share the importance of ROLE MODELS and their inspirational messages that help us pursue our chosen paths in life. Yesterday, while attending a 12 hour continuing education seminar for license renewal, (7:30am-7:30pm) I was awakened to a disturbing reality within my own profession that added clarity to the difficulties facing my own efforts helping the overweight population overcome their malady. The above side view picture represents an accurate depiction of the doctor’s waistline that lead the seminar. This is NOT INTENDED to defame the doctor but, rather to share a reality WE ALL MUST FACE!

 The doctor who taught this seminar was well educated, well credentialed, and provided well documented information on his topic. He was also morbidly obese. During his presentation, he reminded the doctors (on multiple occasions) the hotel offered lunch and recommended to “start with the amazing desserts” because the “salad” was just that, “A SALAD!” I was surprised just how much this impacted me. I am NOT a PURIST! I commonly talk about BALANCE and REALISTIC approaches to eating ALL FOODS people enjoy. This, however, was different. This was an “AWAKENING” showing the REALITY from a DOCTOR’S PERSPECTIVE just how UNIMPORTANT food, eating and good health really was. As I sat listening to the mechanics and neurology of spinal injuries, I kept losing focus. I couldn’t help but wonder about the possible detriment his patients faced based on the DANGEROUS LIFESTYLE PATTERN he clearly followed.

do-as-i-say-not-as-i-do

.

Was I the only one experiencing this concern? MAYBE. I believe this is a possibility based on my experience that occurred at the end of the seminar. You see, I brought a cooler to the seminar that was approximately 22″ long by 14″ wide by 14″ high containing:

  1. Hard boiled Egg Whites

  2. Quinoa mixed with kale, spinach, cauliflower, broccoli, zucchini, squash and carrots (combined with a teaspoon of olive oil and garlic powder)

  3. Turkey breast

  4. Avocado

  5. Plain Greek Yogurt mixed with vanilla flavored protein

  6. Cottage Cheese

  7. Chia seeds

  8. Granola

  9. Pistachio nuts

  10. Chocolate/peanut butter protein bar

  11. Banana

  12. Apple

  13. 1/2 gallon of filtered water

All of these foods amounted to 1835 calories (the calories I needed for a 12 hour sedentary day) with a healthy BALANCE of proteins, carbs and fats. I ate these foods throughout the day as I would any other day. This is exactly what I used to advise my patients to do throughout their day for better health. Although my choices of food might differ from other people, the CONCEPT of eating THROUGHOUT THE DAY FOR BETTER HEALTH was the same never the less.

large

.

As 150+ doctors exited the seminar between 7:30pm and 8:00pm and took notice of my cooler, the responses were disheartening.

  • “Why did you bring that?”

  • “Didn’t you know there would be a lunch break?”

  • “Seems a bit extreme!”

  • Multiple doctors simply laughed at the cooler.

NOT ONE DOCTOR SAID, “THAT WAS A SMART IDEA!”

This showed me the population of people needing education about GOOD HEALTH now included an additional segment I had never really considered; DOCTORS; you know, the profession trained to educate the population on what it takes to BE HEALTHY!?

Most doctors started arriving at the seminar around 7am. Do you think most of these doctors considered eating REAL FOOD for breakfast before arriving? Most didn’t leave until nearly 8pm. Did you think (on a Thursday evening) most went home and prepared REAL FOOD for DINNER? Throughout this long tiring day, large numbers of doctors went to the hotel “gift shop” to buy candy and chips. Why? They were HUNGRY!

IF DOCTOR’S DON’T VALUE AND PRACTICE HEALTHY LIVING, HOW ARE PATIENTS TO BELIEVE  THEIR RECOMMENDATIONS ARE MEANINGFUL AND NECESSARY FOR ACHIEVING GOOD HEALTH?

.

Although my initials are J.C. (Jonathan Colter) I know I am not HIM! (Jesus Christ) I am NOT placing myself on a pedestal, but rather facing an ugly reality that many health care professionals are more focused on the FINANCIAL side of health than the PEOPLE side of health. I believe the basis of this BUSINESS MODEL is foolish and inaccurate. In my practice, I discovered focusing on PEOPLE and THEIR HEALTH CONCERNS RESULTED in the FINANCIAL side taking care of ITSELF. My overweight and obese patients were taught to follow a concept that aligned with this philosophy. They were taught that:

ACHIEVING GOOD HEALTH

would RESULT in LONG TERM weight loss and HEALTHY WEIGHT MAINTENANCE

TAKING CARE OF ITSELF.

.

Don’t let the world shame you into following unhealthy patterns because they have become accepted as “NORMAL AND TYPICAL BEHAVIOR.” Be the last one standing with a smile on your face showing personal pride in the choices you make in life. If this requires “thinking outside the box,” just remember to question the motives of those people trying to keep you inside. Is SOCIAL ACCEPTANCE worth the sacrifice of remaining INSIDE or are you better off “OUTSIDE THE BOX” where unknown opportunities exist for those willing to explore?

.

MAYBE YOU SHOULD CONSIDER “FILLING YOUR OWN COOLER” WITH WHATEVER IT TAKES TO HELP ACHIEVE THE HEALTH AND LIFE YOU DESIRE.

a291b50d66d728e5521d481b8bd1b1d1

36 comments

  1. Not one doctor said, “good idea.” That is scary and revealing. Excellent post, Jonathan.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. How do we correct a health problem when those “in charge” are contributors (and not held accountable) to the very same problem? The average consumer must begin recognizing the fact they need to assume greater control and responsibility for their health and their lives.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We need more good role models, starting with me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I nominate you HEAD ROLE MODEL! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “focusing on PEOPLE and THEIR HEALTH CONCERNS RESULTED in the FINANCIAL side taking care of ITSELF” Yes, I found the same principle to work well in teaching.
    I’m horrified at the picture and the fact no one commended your box or even got convicted by it.. I suspect there is more emphasis on this in Europe. It’s rare to see an overweight doctor (though they do exist). A good diet (though not nearly as good as your exemplary box) is frequently stressed and dietary posters abound in waiting rooms. Unfortunately most doctors have little more than a very general knowledge of nutrition and tend to rely heavily on medication, still I just realised how well off we seem to be by comparison.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This is likely why S.A.D. became the acronym representing the Standard American Diet. This has become an issue that appears more concerned with aesthetic appearance than the damaging hurtful effects created. I’m hoping this article shows that even our PHYSICIANS are lacking the leadership to address this growing epidemic.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on disue.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You may get tired of hearing this, but thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. conflictedhealth · · Reply

    This is sad but I think that doctors should lose their license if they become overweight. How can anyone else maintain a healthy weight if doctors don’t?! They should be setting a model for us. When I was in college I worked at the local grocery store. Every few days the local doctor would come buy TV dinners. I found it crazy. I LOVE THIS POST.

    Katie

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Katie, I appreciate your sentiments. We must realize, however, that doctors have the same pressures, anxieties, and other stress as anyone else. Food is a common way of dealing with it (albeit a poor way.) Doctors, however, should recognize the detriment and lack of credibility their lifestyles may reflect. Commitment to the foundations of healthy living should be as important as the Hippocratic oath mandate. Patient compliance and results would improve if doctors simply practiced what they preached.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What an interesting post. I don’t think it unusual that no one else brought a cooler of nutritious food like you did but I do find it stunning that you were ridiculed for it. I mean really, what the heck are they telling their patients? I once knew a married doctor couple and between the two of them they probably smoked 3 packs of cigarettes a day. They were ER docs so I get it, their life was very stressful but still….

    On a side note, I would have been laughed at for bringing healthy snacks too. Kale chips are one of my favorites along with almond butter spread on whole wheat tortillas.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you Tricia; I didn’t expect people to necessarily bring coolers. I do, however, expect doctors to practice what they ask their patients to practice. I expect doctors to recognize that food plays a significant role in disease and should be addressed as frequently with their patients suffering obesity and other food related diseases as medications are discussed. If the doctor recognizes a weakness in this subject, I expect them to refer to a nutritionist or other qualified professional. I don’t expect them to avoid the subject because it’s easier to do so.

      Adult and childhood obesity continues to grow at epidemic proportions. Doctor’s need to be more accountable to their patient’s and their comprehensive Healthcare needs; not simply supervisors monitoring pharmaceutical compliance.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I wonder if some of the doctors feel they know so much about health that the actions to having good health it just doesn’t apply to them??? I’m so sorry for them. It is a good idea! I will grab a box of cheerios on my way out the door if i haven’t taken the time to pack a ‘snack pack’ with fruit and granola bar, i know I’m gonna be hungry after the pool and even though I’m gone only a couple of hours I never want to pull through a fast food window again! Imagine their reaction if you were sitting there holding a box of cheerios! hahahaa! I will always take your advice Jonathan your posts make sense to me and that picture you posted of yourself tells me you know exactly what you are talking about because you live it! Good health you are it! You could truly teach all of them a thing or two! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Maureen. It doesn’t matter what anyone thinks, says, or does as long as it doesn’t affect the quality of my health and life. The last one standing with a smile on their face is the “winner!”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hahaha! you got that right! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I have a kick ass Harley Davidson themed rolling cooler with two 32 oz sippy cups that fit in the pockets on the side. I got it as a “gift with purchase” and it’s been sitting in my hall closet as I didn’t really have any use for it, or so I thought. Dude, your cooler idea is the bomb! I can fill my rolling cooler up with a small bag of ice and a work-week’s worth of fruit, lunches, and my daily water. Roll it to my desk on Monday and eat out of it all week. Bring it home on Friday, clean it out; refresh my supplies Monday morning and back to work it goes. Brilliant!

    Thank you!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Apply this philosophy to life and experience a life transforming transition right before your very eyes! You won’t be disappointed. …Just prepare yourself for judgement by fellow colleagues…
      Have a wonderful week! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I think the most distressing aspect of your post is that I am not surprised. It seems that in the healthcare world as in the rest of the world, the people at the top are completely out of touch. At the same time, I believe that there is a real grass roots movement toward shedding extra pounds and living clean. I get that from the feedback from things I write on the subject. Readers are very interested and appreciative, unlike your fellow doctors. I’m sure you see it in the responses to your posts, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with you Tony. The world is becoming more open to new suggestions and new ideas regarding healthy living and healthy outcomes. It’s time doctors catch up with the rest of the world!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Very interesting Jonathan! As you said leading by example is so important. When you are talking to people about their life style choices, blood pressure, cholesterol levels hmmmm…..

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Where is the credibility if you don’t practice what you preach?

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I am shocked !
    Great quote: When you choose your behaviour, you choose your consequences.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Lynne. I’m hoping more people are shocked and recognize the reality of this major problem. People grossly UNDER estimate it!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. thank you for sharing good idea Doctor
    love this interessant post
    Have a beautiful week
    Kisses

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and for adding your comment. Have a wonderful week ahead. Stay healthy and happy! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. oh very welcome
        kisses

        Like

  13. Disheartening indeed, that so many of your colleagues ridiculed the cooler and the big kahuna recommended starting with dessert. Long ago, I did have a colleague who sometimes wore a T-shirt with the slogan [Eat Dessert First — Life is Uncertain], but he knew it was a joking way of saying [Carpe Diem] rather than something to take literally.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t personally care less about what my colleagues thought about the cooler. It’s the CONCEPT of providing healthy nourishment throughout a day (if possible) that their patients are likely missing out on. I think doctors need to clearly define their professional titles to themselves to determine the quality of care they intend to offer their patients. If they don’t believe in following a REASONABLY HEALTHY LIFESTYLE, how will they convince their patients to comply with one? This was the disheartening thought that came to mind as they “defensively” addressed the cooler.

      BTW- I love the tee shirt with the slogan you mention. If I didn’t follow a healthy style of eating, I would be one those choosing to eat almost any dessert first (and in the middle and at the end of the meal!) I like dessert better than ANY REAL FOOD. Being HUMAN, I avoid temptation (most of the time) because I know I will make poor choices. People assume my lifestyle prevents human weakness and temptation. It doesn’t!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Let me tell you over half of those doctors went home and thought about your cooler, of course they are to proud and arrogant to admit it….I would put money on it….you probably made a bigger impression on there subconscious than you know, I am sure of it….LOL since I have become more heath conscious I am aware of peoples choices around me…LOL not that I am a snob, but I do notice….LOL its a good thing I think….kat

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s natural as we become more health conscious we become more aware of behavior around us.. I certainly wouldn’t call it snobbery!

      Since I do NOT impose my methods on others, I couldn’t care less what people think about my behavior. Since I am the only one who has to live with it, I only care what I think!

      Like

      1. and that’s all who matters really….

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Excellent write up very well described ! I just started an ophthalmology case series in case you would like to check it out 🙂 https://paulchronicles.wordpress.com/2017/01/09/ophthalmology-series-case-4/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your feedback. I will gladly check your site out. Stay healthy and happy!

      Like

  16. Its such a shame that your colleagues don’t appreciate your choices. They probably ridicule you because they know that you’re right and they’re wrong. They’re defensive so they make fun of you. Its really unfortunate that we can’t just all act like adults and admit when we’re wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not to worry, Nurse Laura. I am not concerned with the way colleagues view the situation. I am only concerned if I live up to the standards that I establish and pursue for myself. In my opinion, only God has the right to judge, and I am quite certain I am not him! 🙂

      I live a life of PURPOSE filled with MEANING and driven by PASSION. I continue to grow and develop and learn as I observe and LISTEN to the world around me.

      I am excited to share my information with the world in an effort to provide those seeking positive changes (often without any resources) a chance to learn from my experiences in practice. Naturally, it is up to the individual to determine whether this information can benefit their lives.

      I appreciate your concern and your kind words. It says a lot about the character you possess. Thank you again for sharing this comment.

      Like

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

