SHIFTING THE MEANING OF “TRYING” FROM EXCUSE TO POSITIVE INTENT

original

We find ourselves in a time when the health of our population continues to diminish even though the life expectancy continues to lengthen. This translates (for many) into a prolonged “life sentence” of disease, dysfunction and depression. To reverse this direction, we need to discover real motivation within ourselves. We need to understand and accept new standards of living and commit ourselves to these new standards to achieve tangible outcomes including improved health, function and quality living.

To achieve these standards we can no longer use concepts as we have in the past that have ultimately failed to create LONG TERM CHANGES. One such failing concept to consider is the word “TRYING” and the way we apply it. For example:

“I WILL “TRY” TO DRINK MORE WATER EACH DAY!”

.

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAOZAAAAJDAxYTFlYWQxLTUwMTItNDhkMS1hYjI2LWM2NWFmNDA2NzczYg

When a person believes they’re ready to make a real commitment to improving their health, and initiates the process with “TRYING” TO DRINK MORE WATER, there is a high probability this person will FAIL. The act of drinking water doesn’t really require TRYING! If a person can’t commit themselves to filling a glass with water and drinking it, they are unlikely able to commit to more challenging physical and mental tasks required to achieving their objectives. Some of the most common EXCUSES for “trying” and failing include:

  1. I forgot

  2. I really don’t like it

  3. I was too busy

Compare the use of the word “TRYING” in the previous paragraph with the following example: “I was “TRYING to increase my exercise by 5 minutes, but was only able to increase it by 2 minutes.” You will notice INTENTION produced a POSITIVE outcome even though the person was unable to achieve their goal. This is NOT FAILURE! This is PROGRESS; a “step forward” on their journey to ultimate success.

245851-Don-t-Fear-Failure.-Fear-Being-In-The-Exact-Same-Place-Next-Year-As-You-Are-Today

The word “TRYING” implies effort. It should NOT BE USED to provide justification for the personal choice to fail. Instead, it should describe a mental and/or physical effort that typically exceeds an individual’s normal capability.

The previous example described a physical limitation while exercising that still achieved progress. This principle applies to MENTAL “TRYING” as well.Β  EXAMPLE: “I was “TRYING to stay focused on my mantra during my 10 minutes of meditation, but kept noticing I was easily distracted and drifting off.” A person TRULYTRYING” (in this example) may have “failed to stay focused on their mantra, but would have achieved a level of SUCCESS by COMPLETING their 10 minutes of meditation rather than “giving up” and quitting.

47062d484670f9a1a58c9a87ace00cc0 smallerWe need to begin viewing the word “TRYING” from this new perspective. We can no longer use it to create unfounded excuses for failure.

.

“I WILL “TRY” TO EAT VEGETABLES EACH DAY!”

.

Placing vegetables in one’s mouth shouldn’t require “TRYING!” If a person doesn’t like vegetables, it should be viewed as a less than pleasurable experience for the palate and a more than pleasurable experience for the brain knowing that it contributes to the prevention of diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, cancer, obesity, etc… If we are UNWILLING to let our cognitive thinking (higher rational thinking) AND emotional thinking work together in a healthy balance to direct our decision making, we will continue to return to patterns of behavior that satisfy SHORT TERM NEEDS at the expense of LONG TERM GOALS.

.

1447715352552The next time you decide to make the commitment to improving your health and quality of life, make certain your INTENTION TO “TRY” is based on the concept of mental and physical FORWARD PROGRESS, even if the attempt only produces partial results.Β  Learning from these experiences and modifying future attempts ultimately leads to LONG TERM SUCCESS.

Those who continue to insist upon using the word “TRYING” to justify CHOSEN FAILURES (ex. not drinking water or not eating vegetables) when a physical and/or mental limitation truly isn’t present, will likely remain frustrated as they continue to follow a path of discontent.

The next time you decide to “TRY,” will INTENT OR EXCUSE determine your outcome?

 

19 comments

  1. INTENT.

    Good post my friend. No excuses. I am exercising and walking regularly. And it all started with 5 minutes a day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have “bought” into the philosophy and it sounds like you are reaping the rewards. You are a great example that small changes over time are capable of creating enormous differences. Wishing you and your lovely wife all the best life has to offer.

      Like

  2. Good post….hits home for sure….no more excuses….just do it…!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This post was really intended for people that feel apathy, yet claim their efforts at becoming healthy go unrewarded. It was my diplomatic attempt to request people to “expel one’s waste or get off the pot!”

      Like

      1. Oh I see, sometimes I just miss the meanings all together….LOL or perhaps I see it in a different mind set…LOL

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Your first impression was correct. I wanted to make certain you realized the “no more excuses” was NOT directed at you. You have done a remarkable job and continue to do so. Like we’ve discussed, you are NOT perfect. As far as that statement goes, neither am I. But, we share a mutual goal to work hard and improve our health through better lifestyle living.

          Like

          1. LOL I do make excuses, I am the Queen of excuses…LOL however in the last 3 years I have been tying to change my mantra….and owning it all….LOL thanks for that, I never thought you directed any of that at me, however its okay to tell me like it is….tuff love is what I was raised on…but I am trying to work hard to improve my health…thanks for caring Jonathan….enjoy the Loooonnnnggggg weekend….kat

            Liked by 1 person

            1. You too, Kat! πŸ™‚

              Like

  3. I’ll try and keep you posted on my intentionsπŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t want to add pressure, but since reading your comment, I have been sitting and staring at my computer monitor UNWILLING to move in fear of missing an update on your intentions. πŸ˜€

      I really appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on my posts. Interaction is so important and beneficial for all of us. I learn as much from comments as I try to teach in postings. Always fun to have nice, witty people that know how to enjoy life in one’s circle.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol. I’m still trying to think up some intentions. So far, I have this: finish drinking coffee.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. As a coffee lover, I can appreciate the focus and technique (sipping, not slurping) one must develop during this sacred morning ritual. πŸ˜€

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks, Doctor Jonathan, great thoughtful post. Also nice to see once again that Yoda had it right: “Try not. Do or do not. There is no try,” from the Empire Strikes Back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe I wrote this article because “the force was with me!” πŸ˜€ Thank you for your kind words and your commitment to helping people achieve healthier lives.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh how I just love your blog! I have learned to choose my words wisely. After all the conversations you have with yourself are, I feel the most important. I just told myself yesterday when leaving aqua therapy ‘jeez I have got to drink more water each day’ and now have an extra water bottle in the car in case I do walk out the door and forget it. Cuz lets face it sometimes I do forget and Im okay with that haha πŸ˜€ But now you’ve got me thinkin about all of the veggies I now love and just 5 short years ago I couldn’t have cared about trying or eating them. My suggestion to any of your readers that really think they don’t like vegetables I say this, TRY them hahaha!! No really keep your frig filled with good things and you will eat good things! Just thinking of my favorites now has made me crave them all! Time for a nice shop and a day of fruits and veggies! Thanks for another great post Doctor Jonathan! Hope you have the best day possible! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You prove that past thinking can change (for the better) as well as past habits. Your veggie and fruit examples are proof. You have CHOSEN a path that will bring quality to your life while recognizing that reducing processed food like substances is actually not a sacrifice. People that like themselves and look forward to life adapt to positive healthier changes more easily. Welcome to the party! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ahahaha!! Thank you! I’m very happie to be here! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Ms. Sunshine · · Reply

    Wow!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read my postings. I’m glad you find value in them.

      Liked by 1 person

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

