IT DOESN’T MATTER

Doesnt Matter

I can teach a person the benefits of healthy eating.

It doesn’t matter.

I can teach a person the benefits of exercise.

It doesn’t matter.

I can teach a person the benefits of developing self esteem.

It doesn’t matter.

I can teach a person the benefits of purposeful living.

It doesn’t matter.

I can teach a person the benefits of successfully navigating a stressful life.

It doesn’t matter.

I can teach a person the benefits of experiencing joy and happiness.

It doesn’t matter.

.

IT JUST DOESN’T MATTER

                 UNLESS

A person decides for THEMSELF,

                IT DOES!

.

DOES IT MATTER TO YOU?

retro-lettering--every-day-matters_1020-551

IF YOU CHOOSE TO MAKE IT MATTER!

26 comments

  1. I know a wise woman who phrases it this way: “You cannot want more for another person than that person ultimately wants.”

    Good food for thought, Jonathan!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. So beautifully said. The problem for me, personally, is accepting that many people want less for themselves than I want for them! I know I don’t have the right to impose my views on people, but it is difficult to refrain when I feel they can benefit from them. Still, I must learn to respect their right to live their life regardless of outcome.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. But…you shine your light. I always teach my children that lamps give light to the room and don’t beat people over the head. Let others see the health and joy and light in your life. Keep up the wonderful work, Jonathan!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That reminds me of the old saying that is used a lot in the African community, “you can take a horse to the water, but you can’t make them drink”. Your post holds true in so many ares of life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So much of living is based on lifestyle philosophy. Those able to apply a proven approach to the various aspects of their lives generally find greater success. It comes down to a simple concept that many have difficulty applying; stick with a proven strategy through thick and thin and reap the rewards the outcome provides. Bend the terms to fit short term needs and suffer the long term consequences.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. All the information in the world is worthless unless someone has decided in advance that it matters and takes action. Another brilliant article.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jason. I have seen you express a similar philosophy in your writings and your podcasts. I hope my readers take a look over at your site at: http://www.betterbalancelife.com/ to gain more knowledge on this and many other subjects relating to improving one’s health.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks. We’re starting a new 10 week health transformation challenge on August 1st. I’m offering free coaching support to anyone who is interested.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. The old you can lead a horse to water.

    It does matters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. …ONLY if we choose to make it matter!… Until people are willing to really look at their own lives and judge for themselves if the road they follow is a path of choice, “blinders” will remain an “impairment” difficult to overcome.

      Like

  5. Absolutely the ONLY way it ever works 🙂

    Like

    1. Nice to see you saying hello to the community. How did the charity walk go? How is the new business progressing? If the answers require extra space, feel free to send an email to jncthedc93@yahoo.com.

      Really great to see that bearded face again! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Doc, all is going well if a little frenetic in the time stakes. I am working a good deal of the time now and when not I am relaxing on the sofa and trying to get used to how life was before all of this weight gain/loss cycle I have been through.
        I am amazed at how my body is coping with the rigours yet my head is still taking time to get going in the mornings. I suppose that is something that will come with time though.
        The walk was great and I am so glad I did it but the weird thing is, as my friend said to me yesterday, it is almost as if it never happened. The furor is over, life has calmed down, life is going in the direction I think I want it to and that in itself is a new experience for me. Work fills my days and I am forever promising myself that I will write my account of my walk for post no 500. I know that I will but time is a funny old thing. I have more work ahead of me than I can pretty much calculate so fitting it in is going to be a tough one.
        I shall get there for sure so continue to watch this space 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Sometimes when we get back into a “work mode” our brains return to older patterns of thinking and behavior. Remember where you came from and where you SUCCESSFULLY brought yourself. Stay focused on Quality Living, Quality Work, Quality Relationships and Quality Time for yourself. These are important things to focus on because they help keep you BALANCED and moving forward in a POSITIVE direction. No one cares about your well being more than YOU!

          Regarding your walk: It doesn’t matter if the event is forgotten forever! Just think about the impact you made in pursuing this event where the ONLY motive was to help children avoid a horrible future. How many people do you know that has taken on the magnitude of such an event without personal gain? That alone places you in an elite class. Can you imagine the impact on this world if EVERYONE committed their lives to 1 event to create awareness. Don’t sell the event or yourself short.

          Eat healthy, exercise hard, work hard, enjoy life and repeat the process. Keep a smile on that newly acquired THIN bearded face! 🙂

          Like

          1. Wow Doc, you really know what to say! Are you sure you don’t do motivational speaking on the side…?!!!
            I will keep smiling and I will keep on keeping on. My life is unrecognisable and I am no longer that person I once was. I have to regularly remind myself of that and eventually it will be second nature.
            I shall let you into a little secret as well, I have joined a boxing gym and although only been once (a vicious summer cold has put paid to my retrun so far) I plan to be there as much as my schedule will allow.
            It is so much fun and not like training at all!!
            I shall keep you appraised as time goes by but you might just be talking to the new featherweight champion of the world ;-)!!!

            Liked by 2 people

            1. Nice to see you found a new joyful means of exercise (and stress relief.) I’ll bet it is a lot of fun and the social interaction is probably good for you as well.

              Glad you have continued looking forward in life. Your past was important because it has helped you find your future. Find enjoyment in each and every day. It is ripe for the picking for those who keep their eyes open.

              I’m also glad you have kept in touch. Whether I see a response once a week, once a month or once a year, our friendship will always remain important and strong.

              Stay healthy and happy my friend.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Thanks Doc, just taking time to acknowledge your words and to thank you for your support over the past year. I shall post again at some point but for now I am happy watching the world go by and knocking the big bag about whenever I have time 🙂
                Take care Dr J 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Glad to see you’re doing well. Say hello to Archie for me. Keep taking him for those walks he loves so much. Drop a word on how you’re doing (if you don’t mind) every now and then just to keep an old friend in the loop. Wishing you continued success and good health on your amazing journey.

                  Like

  6. It does matter and I love that you care……kat

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sweet lady! 🙂

      Like

  7. It does matter!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wonderful sentiment, but I think it misses one crucial point. Before a person can decide whether health or anything else matters, first they have to decide that they matter.

    It isn’t that they don’t want health, or positive self-esteem, or anything else thats good, i’t’s that they don’t realize they deserve it, and so never seek it whole heartedly.

    If and when a person realizes they are valuable, then great things happen. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely. When I discuss health I use the term BALANCE. When I use the term balance, I relate it to the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual (or innate intelligence for those without spiritual beliefs.) Helping people recognize their self value is a necessary step toward helping develop self empowerment.
      I appreciate you sharing your thoughts. The words are full of human emotions often overlooked in the “packaging” of healthful living. Many will relate to these sentiments and will help people begin to “find” themselves (again!)

      Liked by 1 person

  9. YOU are so right! 🙂 People need to be ready before they can be open to listen….

    Like

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

