A Flowchart For Success And Failure

Defining Success and Failure is a challenge in and of itself. It is subjective and arguable. In the following flowchart, I outline some basic key factors that commonly lead to the conclusion stated at the bottom of the flowchart.

It is not easy to reveal a plan of action on 1 piece of paper that outlines ALL the necessary steps, but I’ll bet many will be able to relate to the listed key points and the direction in life it points. The good news is, it is always possible to choose to migrate from the left side of the flowchart over to the right side. All it takes is desire, self worth and value, a little courage to reach outside one’s comfort zone and persistence. I would personally like to welcome all readers currently living their lives on the left side to join me on the right side. I really enjoy meeting new inspiring people that help me improve the quality of my life!

Β 60

37 comments

  1. Thanks for this! I love the progression. I’m currently working on allowing my love for television to co-exist for my need to be active.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Knowing that one doesn’t have to be sacrificed for the other makes finding a balance easier to achieve.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. My stationary exercise bike (with magnetic resistance) is quiet enough that I can use it while watching TV. I don’t watch much TV anyway; when I do, I either ride the bike or do many repetitions with light weights.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This is one of the most productive ways to use a television. It provides background distraction while attaining the physical benefits of exercise. Bravo!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Chronic pain is real and can make life miserable, but you’re right, it is avoidable for most of us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The flowchart was meant to be conceptual. It was not meant to guarantee an outcome, but rather help people understand the typical patterns and results as we age. I would have to say the Big Picture expresses the options most of us have IF we are willing to open our eyes and participate in the process.

      Like

  3. Short and sweet blog post with so much powerful content!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Abigail. Sometimes fewer words grab more and help convince people about a better alternative option.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love this approach

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you Abigail. Proving a point without overwhelming the reader was the goal.

          Like

  4. Great chart and food for thought for anyone raising a child. Early habits can make suh a difference in our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If young children were given an opportunity to live on the right side of this chart, the health problems of this world would diminish quickly. The beauty is, at any stage in life, the opportunity to follow the right side of this chart is available. People simply need to decide for themselves if the value achieved is worth their effort.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly. It is never too late to start.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. These days they could add hours of electronic games, texting and hanging out on social networking sites for young children too. They’re constantly tethered to their phones and use them even when eating dinner or when watching movies.

    I’ve actually known a few who have mastered looking at you (pretending to listen) while they text under the table. It’s actually quite remarkable!

    They don’t spend much time outdoors and even when they do, they’re tapping away on their phones!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The challenges of parenting are enormous. It is not easy to have a child resent the rules a parent must sometimes need to enforce for their benefit. It’s not easy to wait 20+ years for the child to return with praise for helping guide them down a difficult path. What parent wouldn’t like to be known as the “cool” parent? It is our responsibility to always remember the child’s welfare comes first, even if it creates some bumpy emotional roads. Answering the question, “did I do my best giving my child the best upbringing possible,” is a judgement call each parent must search their own heart to answer. If we want more for them, we must show them what it takes by being examples for them to follow.

    Like

  7. So So True Dr J.
    We live our lives by what we learn. Admittedly I sit in front of this computer a little too much but I know I only watch TV for a couple of hours a day at the most, I am active, I eat healthily and I making that change because I want life so although the chart outlines a lifestyle, we must remember, it is never too late to “jump ship” and head for the healthy port….!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely. You are a model of improved emotional and physical health. Many will learn from reading about all your experiences.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope so Doc, I really do hope so Doc.!!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Well done! I just finished reading The Relaxation Revolution. The importance of learning to meditate, relax, MOVE, believe in the positive aspects of ourselves, is so great. And sitting in front of the TV is the opposite of the above. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good health is really about BALANCING Physical, Mental, and Emotional Health. We must work on all aspects to truly be and feel healthy.
      Thank you for adding your comment and sharing The Relaxation Revolution with all of us.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I wish more doctors stressed the importance of those three elements of good health, and I wished more patients understood it. Now, I’m off to stand in my ‘tree pose’ for a few minutes. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Great post Dr. J. Appreciate it – happy day my friend! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking your time to read it and comment. Be well.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. […] A Flowchart For Success And Failure […]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hugs for sharing. πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Thanks…its always nice to have this information…and I am moving my big blue bal into the living room with my weights so I can exercise while watching tv….thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Puts a smile on my face when people take a sedentary activity like TV watching and turn it into productive exercise time with background sound. Well done!

      Like

      1. thanks….always nice to make someone smile…kat

        Liked by 1 person

  12. This is a very good flow chart Dr J and shows a great comparison of how a habit of a young person ‘compounds’ into their later years. A big problem we have as society is office work spaces. I spend too much of my time sat down. I sit down on my way to work on a train. I sit down at work. I sit down on my way home from work. I sit down to eat dinner. I sit down to talk with my family.

    We are living longer lives, but not always healthier sadly. (I am only 24 so I hope to change my work lifestyle).

    Tristan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. After reading your 2016 plan, it looks like you won’t be sitting nearly as much. I hope you successfully attack your resolutions and incorporate them into daily living. Seeking lifestyle goals rather than pursuing small individual obstacles creates patterns of living that typically improve LONG TERM RESULTS. This adds to the chances for (BOTH) LONGER AND HEALTHIER LIVES.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. […] A Flowchart For Success And Failure […]

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This is an excellent infographic! I am going to share it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Scarlet Pen! With my lack of computer skills, it took me forever to create. Since you’re sharing it, it was worth the effort. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I like this – nothing that should be hard for anyone, yet so many choose the wrong path!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems the “choice” NOT TO DO for oneself is chosen more and more often these days at our own detriment. This is a “merry go round” ride people need to get off.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can not find
    your email subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly let me recognize so that I could
    subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

    1. On my home page is a “FOLLOW” button in blue coloring. If you click on this you will receive an email every time I post an article. Thank you for taking your time and joining my network of readers. Wishing you well.

      Like

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

