How Do You Know If You’re Healthy?

Hello I Am Healthy Words Nametag Sticker Physical Fitness

Seems like a simple enough question, but the longer we think about the topic, the more we begin to question the state of our health. Good health IS NOT defined as:

  • the absence of disease or

  • the absence of pain

To determine whether you are healthy or not, the following three questions should be addressed:

1. How do you feel upon awakening?

  • sluggish and tired?

  • stiff and sore?

  • well rested and eager to face the challenges and rewards the day holds in store for you?

2. When you think about your relationship with your significant other and/or family and friends:

  • does stress and elevated blood pressure follow closely behind?

  • do you come to realize these relationships are pretty much taken for granted?

  • do you cherish the thoughts and realize how these people impact the quality of your life?

3. How much value do you place on personal responsibility in preventing disease and degeneration?

  • are you one that doesn’t really think about it because there are too many other responsibilities facing your life?

  • are you one that knows what you should do, but just haven’t been able to find the time to make the commitment?

  • are you one that recognizes no one cares more about your well being than YOU and place great value on taking the necessary steps to maximizing optimal health?

Although the list of questions could be much longer, these three simple questions might provide adequate insight into helping you understand your current state of health. Good health is based on ACTIVELY expanding positive behaviors, activities and environments.

The next time someone asks, “so how ya feelin,” how are you more likely to reply?

  • “Not Bad” or

  • “Couldn’t Be Better!”

Good health starts with a positive attitude; not a fake memorized response, but a deep internal emotional drive that supports physical and emotional wellness. Answering the three questions above will give you greater insight into understanding your state of health and the potential direction you’re headed. You will find that doctors performing physical examinations, ordering lab studies, ultrasounds, diagnostic imaging, etc… will simply corroborate what YOU ALREADY KNOW!

01ed72684f357cc69cd44387332d7d46

54 comments

  1. Health is wealth๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Šnice post

    Liked by 4 people

    1. You’re correct. Most people do not recognize the value (wealth) of health until theirs becomes compromised. I write these articles hoping to attract people’s attention to PREVENT the detrimental outcomes so many experience. We can procrastinate about many things without affecting the quality of life; health is NOT one of those “things.”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Very true, keep writing sir we need your tips๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ˜Š, if you don’t mind, what is your specialization sir? Just for curious๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I was a chiropractic physician for 20+ years prior to retiring in 2014. I have personally spent my life practicing and researching the various components of health that improve quality and function. It is my goal to share these ideas with anyone seeking a healthier life. There are many without financial resources available. Hopefully, my contributions will provide the tools needed to help empower people to achieving greater self confidence along with a healthier outcome.

          Liked by 4 people

          1. Thank you for the response sir, keep going great job, your contribution to the society matters very much๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Š

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Great read….. Thank you. Makes you think. Xx

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Alys. Trying to keep the posts shorter without sacrificing value to respect the reader’s time.
      I’ll bet from reading your posts, you have learned to appreciate life and recognize the importance to ACTIVELY involve yourself in maintaining GOOD HEALTH.

      Like

  3. Easy questions – that last one is the difficult one for me. So easy not to make the healthy choices. I am working on it – the Dog Walk Challenge is going great so far!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The last question seems to gain greater meaning as we age. I am 57 yrs old and have “religiously” exercised for the last 38 years. I have logged my foods since 1995. I have worked at balancing my life physically, mentally and emotionally. I am NOT writing this to pat myself on the back; I am writing this because I am now beginning to see the lifestyle benefits when comparing my capabilities to my friends and colleagues in my age group. Many of them will have significant limitations and will interfere with their quality of life. From one who “walks the walk,” challenge your thinking and actions on this topic. Generating a ballooning savings account can only provide the financial means in life. Without good physical, mental and emotional HEALTH, the savings “bear no fruit.”

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You’re a great example of the benefits of a healthy lifestyle – it really doesn’t mean anything to get to the end of your life with the money for retirement, but to be unable to use it thanks to physical limitations.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. “You will find that doctors performing physical examinations, ordering lab studies, ultrasounds, diagnostic imaging, etcโ€ฆ will simply corroborate what YOU ALREADY KNOW!” This is very true Jonathan and I think is a big reason why we seek these tests (not always though). Facing up to the truth of our own contributions to personal health issues (or any issue really) is very difficult but it is the only way towards better physical and mental health.

    Goos post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is one of the few topics I throw diplomacy out the window. If people are now willing (as difficult as it may be) to own up to their role in satisfying their own health needs the price they will likely pay will be greater than most anticipate. This is one issue where “bluntness” prevents miscommunication.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. “Good health is based on ACTIVELY expanding positive behaviors, activities and environments.”

    Yes, YES!!! Keep it coming, Doc. I need to hear this more, and more, and more. Excellent Post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can count on it!!!

      Like

  6. Again, all salient points in the fight to show we are looking after ourselves and there is NO ONE more likely to do it than OURSELVES.
    I used to reply with okay or not bad when asked how I was but now it is (and I am being honest here) “Great Thanks!!!”
    What difference a year makes……

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When the reply comes from the heart, the response is pleasing to the ears as well. It creates an unintentional positive reinforcement and makes oneself realize how good they truly feel.
      Just wait and see the next level of self advancement as the second year passes by!!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh yes indeed Jonathan. Let us see what a difference another year makes. I will not know myself!!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Wonderful post. A positive attitude, laughter, and gratefulness can go a long way toward improving our wellness. Of course, there are times of ill physical and mental health where these states are (understandably so) difficult to maintain, but if we have a good tendency toward resiliency, we can usually find our way back.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I couldn’t agree more. Life is complicated and filled with volatility. The object is to “smooth out the volatility line” to permit reasonable peaks and minimize the frequency and duration of valleys. Attitude plays a huge role in achieving the status of health each of us desires. It helps push us to perform unpopular activities (ex. regimented exercise) and rewards us with recreational lifestyles with limitless opportunities.
      The one point that MUST be stressed over and over is the importance of ACTIVELY PARTICIPATING IN ONE’S HEALTH! I have never met a healthy well balanced individual that has achieved this status via PASSIVITY.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Good post. ou remind us that there is more to good heath. Attitude and our relatonships play a big role in our well being.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. As essential as all the components people already know they should incorporate into their lives. Good health must be measured by objective tangible testing AS WELL AS non tangible elements that complete each one of us. It is the balance achieved between BOTH areas that determine our health status.
      Thank you (as always) for your important feedback.

      Liked by 2 people

  9. This is a great list of questions to ask. It got me thinking, I woke up this morning and felt stiff and sore, sluggish and tired. i don’t know if its because I worked out pretty hard yesterday at work or because I need to get my health up but these are really great questions to think about. Luckily I think my answers were good for the other 2 questions so I felt better about that.I am finding that health awareness becomes more and more important with age. I am making a conscious effort to try and take care of my health nowadays.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The benefits will be seen down the road.
      In the world of investing, we make small contributions (hopefully) on a regular basis. Our portfolios don’t reveal growth over days, weeks and even months necessarily. If we stick with our plan, over years the value begins to reveal itself. Health is measured the same way. It doesn’t seem to change over a short period of time, but the value is noticeable as we truly age. Regular “investing” in “good health practices” creates the long term solutions most of us are seeking.
      Best of success on your continuing journey.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. That is a wonderfully proactive post! Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Tanya. With a world spiraling down a path of self harm, I have made it my mission to share REALISTIC OPTIONS to solving health and disease concerns. Most people are only exposed to a limited amount of information that presents itself with significant bias. Without having “skin in the game,” (my blog site does not receive any type of compensation) I offer credible information to help people without resources seeking guidance to healthier living.
      I appreciate comments, because they offer perspectives from REAL people, often, with overlapping questions, concerns and sometimes solutions. We are all in this together. I have found “giving” and impacting the lives of others (even if it is just information AND compassion) is the best gift I have ever RECEIVED.
      Thank you again for your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I so admire your work in this. I lost my father to lung cancer when he was only 43 years old. I have watched numerous relatives succumb to the death spiral of horrid diets and inactivity made partially palatable by the cocktail of drugs their doctors prescribed. I support and applaud your effort!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. It’s nice to have a new advocate as well as a new FRIEND. โค ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  12. Great post. Thanks for sharing this ๐Ÿ™‚ I learn a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s always nice to see that readers have gained some insight and new knowledge from these posts. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with me.

      Like

  13. another great post….makes you stop and think…put some things in perspective….thanks…you leave me thinking …LOL How is your dad doing? Even though I don’t know him, I think of him often, he’s been through so much…hope he is thriving and enjoying life…….kat

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is important for people to understand the role of prescriptions and the limitations they have in restoring quality health. People need to understand they will NEVER be a “complete solution” to ANY malady.

      Thank you for inquiring about my father. He has adapted to his reduced vision and maintains a great deal of independence even with a care assistant 24/7. Most importantly, he is reasonably happy with his quality of life. Thank you for truly caring.

      Like

      1. Thanks for responding about your dad…and I really do care, I loved caring for the elderly, listening to them talk, even it was just random thoughts…I am thinking about volunteering at the local snf….I miss my mother terribly and I think being around the geriatric will help fill the void…I am so happy your dad is in a good place…its never easy to get old, especially men!!! I found they had more trouble loosing there independence than women…however I have a feeling that will be changing as the baby boomers come into retirement and elderly age…LOL I know I am going to be a pistol!!! LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Yes! We have to take control of our lives and it starts with how we care for ourselves. If we don’t want to be the aged person in the wheelchair, we need to think ahead and that means right now. What we eat, how we rest and exercise, and how we talk to ourselves set us up for success or failure. I trust my physician, but I don’t want to rely on her. I want to rely on ME and then when I need additional support, she is there. Great post, thank you for keeping me motivated.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is how I encouraged my patients to utilize my services. I was as much a counselor as an active practitioner. The object was to empower the patient giving them more and more responsibility to maintain optimal health. Those that accepted this role (in general) were happier, healthier patients. Those simply wanting to rely on me continually needed my services to “bandage the new leaks” in their health.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Important post and information Jonathan. I have been putting off a blood test for weeks as I need to fast before I do it. Early morning for me is always very busy to get there. I know I am very low in iron and need to address it. I am the only one responsible for my body and health so I will need to make a decision and do it. A balance of attitude, diet and stillness to listen is vital for our health.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I encourage you to make the time for your blood work. Iron deficiency can cause problems beyond oxygen deprivation for the cells in your body. It can interfere with the synthesis of dopamine, DNA and white cells resulting in cognitive impairment and immune system compromise.

      Your offer such wonderful advice to your readers, I hope you will give this reader a chance to return the favor. Take care of your needs FIRST. Wishing you all the best.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thankyou Jonathan. I will go first thing in the morning and I appreciate your encouragement. I will practice what I preach ha!!

        Liked by 1 person

  16. You mentioned the importance of “participating in one’s health” in a response to someone’s comment. That struck a chord with me. It seems so obvious but there are so many people who are simply passive. They don’t even give their health a thought (until, of course, something goes wrong). I always wonder about that. It’s like they think of their bodies as perfect machines or something that don’t need any tending to work well.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Our health care system reinforces this self destructive attitude by assuring patients that doctors have the “solutions” to their problems. This provides additional “motivation” to sit back and remove oneself from personal responsibilities necessary to maintain good health. A more ethical doctor would explain that prescriptions are merely adjuncts (in many cases) to ACTIVE lifestyle changes required to provide our bodies and minds the tools needed for healthy living.

    These ACTIVE living concepts need to be implemented and reinforced during early formative years to create patterns that juveniles, adolescents and adults would then follow through life.

    Like

  18. This is an excellent post ! Very interesting and it certainly made me think !!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Challenging our own perspectives is a major objective in my writing. I have no intention to discern “right” and “wrong.” My self imposed job is to create new awareness by providing ideas and concepts that add clarity and solutions to existing health problems. The nicest compliment I get is, “that makes sense.” If it “makes sense” to people, they are less defensive and more open to change. I hope my writings continue to be shared among readers to help ALL people find better approaches to living healthier and happier lives.
      Thank you so much for your valuable contribution.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Reblogged this on lynz real cooking and commented:
    Great post and many things to think about!

    Like

  20. Sandhya · · Reply

    Came here from Lynz real cooking. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to check out the site. I like to inspire people by sharing information as well as offering options many are unaware of. I welcome your feedback any time a posting stimulates a thought you might like to add. Have a great weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Lynz real cooking does a great job on her blog site. I would like to thank you for taking the time to read my posting. I look forward to seeing you again. Have a wonderful weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sandhya · · Reply

        I will surely visit again!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I look forward to the opportunity to share future articles with you.
          Stay healthy and happy!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Sandhya · · Reply

            Thank you so much! I look forward to reading your informative and thought provoking articles too.

            Liked by 1 person

  21. An excellent post, and a great way to look at health ! Bravo. Came here via Lynn. ๐Ÿ’–

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing how you found my site. I try to identify various health issues and provide REALISTIC options for those seeking answers. Thank you for taking your time to read my article. Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure. It just made a lot of sense to me ! โ˜บ

        Liked by 1 person

  22. The key principle you mentioned here (actively expanding positive behaviors) is the main habit people need to adopt if they want to be truly healthy. Thanks again for the interview on my podcast. Let’s do something to promote it through your blog too. I’ll be sending out an email with show notes this week at BetterBalanceLife.com. The episode is linked to the hosting site as well jasonatkinson.podbean.com

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I would like to thank you and offer my appreciation for the opportunity to share my views on health with you and your listening audience. This message needs to be repeated over and over for people to begin truly hearing its content. We are “creatures of habit” and it is difficult for people to “let go” of life time habits, even if they are self destructive in nature. The message must strike an emotional chord within people as well as a rational one. Your dedication to this cause is commendable.
    Wishing you and your audience all the best.

    Like

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

