“FEEDING” Your Needs

Woman-enjoying-lifeIt’s not always about food although many turn to it when they don’t know where else to turn. The quickest way to better weight management and better health is discovering our individual “deficiencies.”

  1. How is your relationship?

  2. How is your family relationship?

  3. How is your job?

  4. How is your social life?

  5. How is your spiritual relationship?

  6. How does your future look?

Focus on the big picture by “feeding” these areas of deficiencies and watch your weight and health improve dramatically. Following this strategy will give you a chance to regain control of your life and provide motivation to find and correct other “deficiencies” you never even realized existed.

If exercise and dieting hasn’t achieved the results you’re looking for, why not try a different approach like:

“FEEDING” Your Needs!

 

SIDE NOTE: I received wonderful constructive criticism suggesting I shorten the length of my posts. In doing so, I hope to demonstrate greater respect for your reading time without compromising content that offers opportunities to improve your health and quality of life. Thank you for being part of my community and sharing your feelings with me.

42 comments

  1. Excellent suggestions and “food for thought.”

    Liked by 3 people

  2. “Feeding” our needs in life often overlaps with feeding our “wants.” Satisfying these needs in a positive manner that improves our health and outlook on our life seems to make greater sense than destroying and alienating oneself by following destructive patterns that provide a brief moment of less pain. So many good options are available.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Yes! Very well said! Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Finding balance seems to be key for me and quite often easier said than done.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Most things in life worthwhile require real effort. Good health is no different. The problem is people do not realize that health deteriorates PRIOR TO SYMPTOMS in most cases. We need to begin asking ourselves as we look around and see the quality of people’s lives, “what am I doing DIFFERENTLY to make certain my quality of life is not compromised over time?” If you can’t lay out a list in front of yourself, then the reality must be accepted that what you see in this world is likely what you will become. Life is about CHOICES in most cases. Good health requires ACTIVE participation; it is never achieved by PASSIVE living.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great to see someone address the fact that we are more than the physical and need to take care of our whole self. I think it’s really great of you to heed to suggestions of your readers, although I don’t think most of us mind reading your content regardless of length:)

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Thank you Nena. I appreciate your willingness to read various length postings. I try to make the content valuable to the readers, but also realize that time is a precious commodity. I value you and your blog site very much. You create awareness about many issues that impact all our lives. You also provide suggestions on how we can get involved (if we choose to) without ever making it feel like an imposition. Keep up the positive attitude and you will find much sunshine and real happiness.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I am happy (from the bottom of my heart) to have “met” you:) You are an inspiration and your integrity is admirable. Your support via your words is appreciated more than words themselves can express! *smiling from ear to ear* May you have much sunshine and true happiness in your life as well!

        Liked by 2 people

  7. Six questions that a psychiatrist would ask you upon your first visit and with good reason. It is like a GP taking your blood pressure, checking your ear canals and your throat. It gives an overall impression of your mental “weight” so to speak and it speaks volumes about your physical state of being.

    Well spoken and a reminder for us to look deeper than the cellulite and fat rolls for our problems, and even at times the lack there of.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. What a wonderful reply. Your analogies are spot on. Wouldn’t it be incredible if doctors utilized tangible information attained during an examination and applied it to the whole person to provide recommendations. It would be refreshing to walk away from this encounter contemplating aspects of life needing fine tuning rather than directions to the pharmacy where the prescription was called in.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. As much as I appreciate you sharing this, I really appreciate how much you care for other people. Keep the spirits high and keep succeeding with those “teeny tiny goals!”

      Liked by 2 people

  8. Wonderful post to share with us. Is the craving for junk food an attempt to make up for the deficiencies in our lives.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Exactly! Sometimes creating awareness is all it takes to get our lives back on track.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. This post is short but packed with so much good insight. I have been thinking about “what I want to be when I grow up”…lol and even at 30 years old I am not sure what that is. I like my job, don’t get me wrong, but its like, is that is? Isn’t there more to life than this. The spiritual relationship is huge for me. I make sure I spend time at least 4 times a week with God, reading the bible, worshiping. Some weeks I am better at doing this than others but I am trying. Good post!!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Re-connecting with one’s own identity (through a spiritual approach or a secular approach) helps ground us making it easier to overcome obstacles we face in life.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. A wonderful post Jonathan. Your questions are important to help shift unconscious awareness to positive conscious choices each day. Thankyou.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It is so easy to get caught up in daily living, sometimes we simply need to be reminded to step back and objectively look at our direction in life to make certain we’re on the right path.
      Thank you, Karen.

      Liked by 2 people

  11. I have re-blogged this to my Facebook page….another really good post and I am still working on the questions you put forth…..great food for thought!!!! kat

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That makes two of us. If I ask readers to question values in their lives, I promise I ask myself these same questions. Challenging our thinking helps all of us grow as individuals.
      Thank you for re-blogging this on your Facebook page.

      Like

      1. my pleasure as always….kat

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Healthy Not Nuts · · Reply

    Funny, I have been trying to make my posts more short and sweet lately. So true, we often get caught up in counting calories, trying to burn calories, what’s for breakfast, lunch ,dinner and we totally forget about the stuff that really counts and shouldn’t be forgotten as one or more of those items could be the root of the problem. Good reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In your comment you mentioned the key to finding, maintaining or restoring good health. Discovering the ROOT CAUSE is the true secret to uncovering the “problem(s).” Well stated!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Absolute perfection of a post Doc.It is NOT always about feeding your stomach. As I sit here I am having a constant battle with myself saying “you’re hungry, get something to eat” yet I have only had my muesli an hour and a half ago followed by a cup of coffee. There is NO way I am hungry but I feel I must eat.
    Now I am happier than I have been in years but still I must fight this demon of food on an hourly let alone daily basis…
    I certainly think there are some of us that have issue with food because we just simply have the “constant craving” gene that keeps us chained to the fridge even when not hungry.
    I am one such person (see early posts in the blog for the general idea) but I try to fight it and I try to keep busy in order to keep it at bay.
    Underlying issues are the absolute most destructive things in our lives.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. There are multiple reasons for recurring hunger.
      1. The food you just supplied your body did not provide it with what was needed. A “hunger reflex” gives you another try to fix the problem. The problem is it also requires additional calories.
      2. Irregular feeding will also provide a safety reflex to instigate hunger.
      3. Imbalance in intestinal flora (microbiome.) If there is an imbalance in healthy bacteria the nutrients will go to feeding the opportunistic bacteria (bad guys) leaving you void of the nutrients your body needs.
      4. Boredom. Food simply feels good takes up time. Keep the mind occupied AND FOCUSED and the hunger hormones will subside.

      Just a few ideas to try. Overcoming habitual patterns in life fall under the same category as drug and alcohol addiction. There can always be a trigger that excites the brain to return thinking to old patterns of behavior. The brain fires those hormones that trigger the emotional attachment to satisfying these cravings. During these times, a walk with Archie will help reduce the cravings and make you feel good about walking away from behaviors that will only result in self harm. I’ll bet Archie won’t complain. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Boredom. Boredom. Boredom.
        My biggest enemy.
        Even though I am busy 99% of the time its the little bits of down time that kill me, seriously. That is why I only think about food when I am sat on my bum doing nowt!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. People who keep themselves busy yet still think about food during short intervals of “down time” are usually people that have difficulty relaxing. You can transition an active life to an “active” passive activity (ex. listening to a seminar or workshop, listening to words and their meaning in music, etc…) You are sitting, yet “actively” requiring your brain to participate during a passive activity. This keeps the mind away from food and helps you achieve some quality down time. Eventually, this transitions to actual “passive” down time.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Good thoughts Doc. I shall endeavor to remember, along with meditating….

            Liked by 1 person

      2. I shall also take you up on the walking. Getting out instead of thinking about food is a great way of dealing with these things.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. […] “FEEDING” Your Needs […]

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Great post – it’s so easy to feed oneself actual food, but can be so difficult to do the feeding of one’s true needs, even if the latter is the one that will ultimately lead to the most positive outcomes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have a tendency to separate the two just like we have a tendency to view the human body as individual body parts. As we begin to integrate our experiences in life and open our minds to the overall affects we begin understanding ourselves and our needs more completely.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Yes, I feel like that is my current issue. Well, and my work environment. My co-worker and I have both gained weight in the last year. We sit outside the office of our supervisor who is VERY negative. She also makes comments about what everyone eats etc. and she herself is always on a diet. I am currently working on “blocking” her energy. We both really feel like our weight gain is in response to this woman. It’s like we even hide foods we eat from her so she won’t comment. Any suggestions?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First, you must choose how important it is to remain in a work environment that produces these daily stresses. Secondly, you must find whatever creates the most joy in your life and harness the feelings and energy it brings to you. Lastly, you must learn to view your supervisor as a person suffering great personal turmoil. These types of people hold on to life by dragging others into their depths of despair. Creating your own sources of meaning, purpose and happiness in life strengthens your character and personality which will prevent the supervisor from “getting into your head.” It just won’t matter what she thinks or says because you know where her thoughts are coming from; her own insecurities. I hope this helps.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh she definitely is an unhappy person. I know it’s her insecurities. I can sense that, it’s just hard to block some days. And yes, leaving this place is the number 1 option

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing my message with your readers. It’s a message I believe all of us can benefit from. Wishing you all my best.

      Like

  17. This is enlightening!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it. Sometimes we just need to see things in life from a different perspective. Thank you for reading and adding your opinion.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Most welcome, this was super interesting and helpful!

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Howto$tuffYourPig · · Reply

    Whether long or short, your posts have always resonated with me in a positive way. In fact, because of my recent development of what seems to be a steady stream of health issues (thankfully nothing too serious) I have decided to let some things go so I have more time to focus on myself and the needs of my family. I will be working shorter hours as well. No more 70-80 plus hours a week! I am also unofficially taking some time off from blogging so I have time to rest. Thank you for another great post! PS. I am a little behind my reading but I will catch up soon! Don’t want to miss a single post from you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry to hear about your health issues. I hope it can resolve with your new direction of focus. Have missed your presence on wordpress, but certainly understand the need to take care of yourself. Wishing you a speedy recovery and much happiness on your new path in life.
      Thank you as always for all your kind words.

      Liked by 1 person

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

