The Benefits Of Sugar

like-sugar-as-well-as-other-diseasesIt seems that everytime we hear the word, “sugar” we associate it with evil. Sugar has provided benefits to many people and continues to provide stability to the United States healthcare system. How, you ask?

  • The dental industry gained $122,000,000,000.00 (122 BILLION) in 2009 from dental care in the U.S. Although sugar was not the only contributing factor, it played a major role in helping generate this type of revenue.

  • The American Diabetes Association estimated the annual cost for treating diabetes at $23,700.000.00 (23 MILLION). Again, sugar was not the only cause, but certainly contributed to the end result.

  • The 2000 Census provided an estimated cost for cardiovascular disease as of 2003 at $351,000.000.000.00 (351 BILLION). Doctors realize that diet and consumption of sugar are contributing factors resulting in cardiovascular disease, yet rarely if ever mention it during office visits. They do, however, verify that all prescriptions are taken.

  • Annual medical expenditures in the United States that were attributed to Obesity in 2003 amounted to approximately $75,000,000,000.00 (75 Billion). Once again sugar was not the only cause but was noted as a major factor. Products high in sugar are typically lower in costs.

Without going through each and every health profession and its relationship to sugar consumption, the total estimate spent on healthcare from this ONE SUBSTANCE was:

$1,000,000,000,000.00 (1 TRILLION!) ANNUALLY

(NOTE: This dollar amount came from Forbes Magazine. The link is: 1 TRILLION DOLLARS)

Although the general population has been very kind to the healthcare profession by living a lifestyle that has created great wealth for them, I suggest we begin thinking more about our individual livelihoods and wellbeing. It may be time to look at sugar in the bigger picture and question whether its BENEFITS really outweigh its DETRIMENT. Is one trillion dollars of disease worth a few minutes of gustatory (taste) satisfaction? If you need a second opinion, you may want to avoid asking the healthcare industry; they have 1 TRILLION reasons to become mute!

28 comments

  1. Thank you for posting this! Fat (bad fats) have never really been the enemy. It’s always been sugar, and its resulting inflammation that is at the root of so much chronic disease. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My mentor, Jack LaLanne, in the 1950’s proclaimed sugar as an enemy to the vitality of good health. You are so right, inflammation is a key problem in most of our population. The problem is the damaging effects of systemic inflammation require time (in most cases) to become symptomatic. People believe if symptoms are absent good health exists. This concept is dangerous and causes many to suffer unnecessarily. I’m hoping as comments like yours are read, greater exposure will lead to greater awareness and change in attitude. Thank you for your thoughtful and important comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are so welcome and so correct! You have all of my support!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Is raw honey OK?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Certainly better than sucrose (table sugar.) An article found in the Journal of Medical Food in 2004, compared honey to dextrose and sucrose and found that natural raw honey was capable of lowering plasma glucose, C-reactive protein, homocysteine in healthy, diabetic and hyperlipidemic subjects. It is a whole food and the body processes whole food differently than refined processed table sugar. In my opinion it is still sugar and should therefore, be consumed in smaller amounts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was hoping you would say that. I love raw honey on toast. The caveat for me is moderation.

        One thing I have noticed is that when I eat a lot of sweets, my rosacea outbreaks are considerably worse. I never understood that, until I read this. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Glad to help!

          Like

  3. another great post….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the complimentary words. Congratulations once again on all that you have achieved!

      Like

  4. You sure burst my balloon. There is no good reason for ME to have sugar. Only the medical profession. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are so many aspects of life that bring more joy and pleasure than sugary foods. In times of stress and or pain, we need to have a backup plan to help us through the episode. If we can find purpose and passion in life, these attributes can be substituted for comfort foods in times of crisis. As we succeed, each future crisis becomes easier to overcome. But, one must decide they are ready to begin!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Get out of my head LOL! You know me, I am not ready to begin. I am trying so hard, but I am just not ready. I have to find the aspects of life that bring me joy and pleasure and I just hit a point today where I actually said I feel happy now that my creativity came back and I can write my stories and poems again. That is progress. I don’t want to stop writing.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You shouldn’t stop writing. It provides a creative and healthy activity for you. I’m glad to hear that happiness has returned. I have commented about your progress many times and am proud of the strength you show in the face of pain. 1 inch of progress each day amounts to the equivalent of 3 stories (over 30 feet) in a year. You don’t need speed, you just need to continue to move in a forward direction.

          Liked by 2 people

      2. There have been very few times in this life that I have said I feel happiness. 3 births and that is about it. Feeling happy is not something I am used to. Glad I don’t need speed. I haven’t got that in me. The way I feel right now I want to write all night. Not sleepy at all yet and I got up mid afternoon today.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post and quite eye opening. It’s hard to believe THAT much money is to be made from just one of our poor choices!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping more people are astounded by this fact. Change is thinking and behavior is desperately needed. I’d like to believe this article will create a similar effect as the V-8 commercials. A slap to the forehead followed by a new understanding and a new path to follow.

      Like

  6. Don’t forget the big bucks made from dialysis, direct result of damage from diabetes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I certainly don’t believe that doctors are purposefully capitalizing on the sugar craze, My concern is that they may not be doing enough to correct it. There should be more referrals to nutritionists, naturopaths and functional medical doctors that address this issue in greater detail than the traditional allopathic physician.

      Like

  7. […] ***This haiku was inspired by Dr. Jonathan Neal Colter’s latest post on The Benefits of Sugar. Cl… […]

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A trillion THANKS for this post. I eat wayyy too much sugar, even though I watch how much I eat. I could do better, and I WILL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Once we find meaningful things in life, replacing food as a stress reliever becomes so much easier.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Howto$tuffYourPig · · Reply

    This is my one vice! I have been trying to get rid of my sugar cravings for the last 20 years with no luck, I’m addicted to anything chewy from gummy worms to my all-time favorite swedish fish. Horrible for the teeth! I am convinced that sugar should be a classified drug. I probably could lose my last ten pounds if I could eliminate my addiction. Any suggestions?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Success overcoming most addictions is accomplished by finding substitutions that satisfy one’s need. Food is slightly different. Most times food addiction is caused by “non food issues.” Most people do not constantly crave food. We turn to food to temporarily tame stress in our lives. Finding “non food” stress relievers has worked well and helps change the way hormones stimulate appetite. When you close your eyes and think of things, activities, people, etc… that create a real sense of purpose or happiness, these become the “things” to turn to in place of food (not just sugary food.) You will satisfy the same stress relief by turning to these “things”, activities, people, etc… without causing additional stress that poor food choices elicit.

    As we fulfill ourselves with this new approach to stress, food loses its importance (in this role.) You also develop a better sense of self control which empowers us. This approach satisfies the emotional and rational component to overcoming dysfunctional eating.

    I look forward to hearing your success story. BTW- the last 10 pounds comes off without focusing on losing it. It is simply a natural result of the process.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. I love the irony in the title and 1st parag.

    Like

    1. Writing about health care is the surest method to curing insomnia. I decided that my articles were going to be different. They would be controversial without imposing biases onto the reader. They would be designed to discuss relevant topics in a meaningful manner without being disrespectful. I want to hear opinions because they provide direction and guidance. It is easier to introduce new concepts and ideas if I understand the concerns or fears from the reader’s perspective. I hope a creative approach brings additional value and focus on the content.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Love the way you have written this. These number are staggering and although I think I lead a healthy lifestyle I suspect my sugar intact is well above what it should be. This has me thinking, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment. My goal is to help people learn how to incorporate what they like with what they need. It is important to realize it’s NOT one or the other. This approach makes it realistic and reduces the sense of deprivation.

      Like

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

