Calcium Supplements For Women

This article was written by Sayer Ji from Greenmedinfo.  It is only a portion of his article I thought the readers would find interesting.  Elemental calcium vs calcium naturally found in food does not create the same increased risks this article discusses.  It is also important to realize that aging is a natural process and that bone density naturally changes as we age.  It should NOT be classified as a disease.  To prevent injuries from these changes, we need to ACTIVELY participate in our lives by (1) improving balance, (2) improving strength through resistive exercise(3) improving our diet, (4) maintaining proper water intake, (5) improving our flexibility, (6) improving joint function and nerve communication (chiropractic health care).

High Bone Density: More Harm Than Good

The present-day fixation within the global medical community on “osteoporosis prevention” as a top women’s health concern, is simply not supported by the facts. The #1 cause of death in women today is heart disease, and the #2 cause of death is cancer, particularly breast cancer, and not death from complications associated with a bone fracture or break.  In fact, in the grand scheme of things osteoporosis or low bone mineral density does not even make the CDC’s top ten list of causes of female mortality. So, why is it given such a high place within the hierarchy of women’s health concerns? Is it a business decision or a medical one?

Regardless of the reason or motive, the obsessive fixation on bone mineral density is severely undermining the overall health of women. For example, the mega-dose calcium supplements being taken by millions of women to “increase bone mineral density” are known to increase the risk of heart attack by between 24-27%, according to two 2011 meta-analyses published in Lancet, and 86% according to a more recent meta-analysis published in the journal Heart. Given the overwhelming evidence, the 1200+ mgs of elemental calcium the National Osteoporosis Foundation (NOF) recommends women 50 and older take to “protect their bones,” may very well be inducing coronary artery spasms, heart attacks and calcified arterial plaque in millions of women. Considering that the NOF name calcium supplement manufacturers Citrical and Oscal as corporate sponsors, it is unlikely their message will change anytime soon.

Now, when we consider the case of increased breast cancer risk linked to high bone mineral density, being diagnosed with osteopenia or osteoporosis would actually indicate a significantly reduced risk of developing the disease. What is more concerning to women: breaking a bone (from which one can heal), or developing breast cancer? If it is the latter, a low BMD reading could be considered cause for celebration and not depression, fear and the continued ingestion of inappropriate medications or supplements, which is usually the case following a diagnosis of osteopenia or osteoporosis.

We hope this article will put to rest any doubts that the WHO’s fixation on high bone density was designed not to protect or improve the health of women, but rather to convert the natural aging process into a blockbuster disease, capable of generating billions of dollars of revenue.

8 comments

  1. Is there a test that will let me know if my calcium intake is too high? I currently do take supplemental calcium.

    Like

    1. Blood and urine tests can measure these values. The problem is that blood calcium levels are so critically important for survival that the gut and or bones give up there calcium supplies to maintain normal blood levels. Therefore, I recommend you stay focused on a daily range with current recommended amounts of calcium intake ranging between 800mg – 1200mg/day. The safest and healthiest way to obtain these levels is through real food. I have attached a list of these foods (copied from Dr. Scott Stoll’s article from from January 2013) with their calcium levels:
      Tofu 350 mg per ½ cup serving
      Tapioca 300 mg per ½ cup serving
      Chia seeds 300 mg per 1.5 ounces serving
      Collard greens 210 mg per ½ cup serving
      Kale 205 mg per ½ cup serving
      Bok Choy 190 mg per ½ cup serving
      Figs 135mg per 5 fig serving
      White Beans 120 mg per ½ cup serving
      Turnip Greens 104 mg per ½ cup serving
      Spinach 99 mg per ½ cup serving
      Almonds 93 mg per ¼ cup serving
      Sesame Seeds 51 mg per 1 tablespoon serving
      Canned Salmon 232mg per ½ can
      Sardines 321mg 7 sardine fillets
      Black-eyed Peas 185mg ½ cup canned
      Oranges 65mg 1 medium fruit
      Seaweed 126mg 1 cup raw
      Milk 300mg 8 oz.
      Cheese 242mg 1 oz.
      Yogurt 400mg 8oz.

      You must also realize that bone health is more than just calcium intake. Minerals, Vitamin D and exercise are all important components of healthy, strong bones. One of the most important additional benefits of whole food sources of calcium is that they supply minerals and micronutrients that promote bone health. Minerals such as manganese, boron, zinc, copper and magnesium are found in these whole foods and are critical components of calcium metabolism (breakdown and absorbtion) and bone health.

      Finally, taking high levels of supplemental calcium (including multivitamins, calcium supplements and enriched foods) in addition to whole foods potentially place people at higher risks for heart attack (calcium buildup on the blood vessels and valves), brain damage (strokes) and kidney damage (kidney stones).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I try to get my nutrition through foods. Sadly the nutrition in foods is slowly waning. My mom is on calcium through her docs advice. I wish she were living with me and I could help better take care of her nutrition intake. I worry about the meds they seem to love to ply her with. Well that’s another story. Great article. I like the list of foods with calcium in it. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree with you. The soil is not given enough time to recover between harvests; contaminants from the chemicals sprayed on crops toxify our bodies and the genetic modifications are potentially creating a very dangerous product. Organic is becoming more and more essential for many of the foods we eat.
      The same way a carpenter views the world as a nail, the medical doctor views the world as a drug. Integrative and Functional medicine is beginning to change this paradigm.
      Finally, your mom is very fortunate to have a daughter who truly cares for her well being. You have a kind heart.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have an organic garden. Learning to grow in the south is so different than when I was on the west coast. I do what I can with saving the clipping when I mow and kitchen scraps all go out in the compost pile. Trying to make my own soul healthy. It’s not soil really but clay! I’ve managed to grow many things such as cabbage, kale, lettuce, tomatoes, peas… Well I won’t bore you, but you get the idea. I’d love to have a couple of chickens but the city I’m in restricts it. I find it silly as I’m in a couple acres. I’ve considered petitioning as they did in the city over from me. I’d love to have a couple mini goats too that roam and graze on the land. As for my mom: I’ve always been the responsible one, but never the favorite. I do what I can for her and want her to live a healthy and long life. I’m in a different state than she is so it’s difficult. I send her things. I just wish he favored ones would take care of her better since they live near. I’ve noticed I’m behind on many articles of yours….I need to get to reading!

        Like

  3. This statement scares me: the 1200+ mgs of elemental calcium the National Osteoporosis Foundation (NOF) recommends women 50 and older take to “protect their bones,” may very well be inducing coronary artery spasms, heart attacks and calcified arterial plaque in millions of women.

    Does everything come down to the almighty dollar? If a woman cannot trust the advice of NOF, who then is on our side? I believe that we all need to ask the questions and be diligent in our own choices regarding our health, but who do we know which experts/organizations are trustworthy?

    I see that you’re a chiropractic doctor. What credentials do you have…..I guess I’m curious as to what education and degrees you hold?

    Like

    1. I was glad to see your question regarding my credentials. It demonstrates character in a person seeking truth based on more than simple anecdotal evidence. The following will provide some background.
      I was raised in a family that suffered obesity, high blood pressure, cardiac disease, cancer, high cholesterol, etc… I was fearful of these health maladies and needed to learn what effort was needed to follow a healthier path in life. I developed an early love for athletics and exercise. Jack LaLanne became my mentor. (if you never heard of him, he is worth googling). In my 20’s I worked in a 30,000 sq. ft health club in charge of fitness. Quickly I learned that exercise without proper nutrition was self limiting. During this period I began to study the relationship between exercise, health and nutrition. In my early 30’s I returned to school to complete a doctoral program at Palmer College of Chiropractic. Nutrition was part of the curriculum at Palmer. I continued with post graduate continuing education courses dealing with nutrition on a macro nutritional and micro nutritional level. I applied my studies in practice for over 20 years before retiring in 2014. In 2008 I developed a protocol for weight management that included nutrition, exercise and lifestyle modification. In 2013 the manufacturers of the “Total Gym” (represented by celebrities Chuck Norris and Christie Brinkley) liked the protocol I created and had their camera crew fly from California to North Carolina to film me for their commercial.

      I have studied and personally participated in exercise and nutrition management for the last 38 years. It is a PASSION of mine. I believe it is one of the most important aspects of healthy living. I am 56 years old, require no pharmaceutical medications, can participate in all athletic sports and can enjoy the quality of life I have chosen. I am not writing these words to “show off”; I am trying to explain that I have applied my education and training and the objective findings (lab work, diagnostic imaging, etc…) confirm the results I teach. I have also witnessed that knowledge without practical application provides little benefit beyond the educated person.

      I hope this has helped answer your question. The information I provide is based on scientific research and studies. More importantly (in my opinion) it is based on clinical outcomes from independent sources (in most cases.) If research is funded by anyone with compensatory interests, biases will likely be built in to its design. This reduces the credibility of the conclusions since various incentives are provided to those carrying out the research.

      Please do not hesitate to ask any questions about my articles or their conclusions. I encourage people to challenge ideas. This is the process necessary for creating “new truths.”

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Thank you very much for your extensive answer to my question! I didn’t think you were being boastful at all. I have heard of LaLanne and was always amazed at his self-discipline and physique.

    I, too, strive to have a healthy lifestyle and was pleased to find your blog as I want to learn of other methods of maintaining ones health without relying strictly on medication or supplements.

    Thanks again for taking the time and patience in your reply.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment can positively impact the lives of others.

